Coontails with Fabric Dye?

Candied_Angel

Coontails with Fabric Dye?

Post by Candied_Angel » Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:41 am

Hey all!

I'm gearing up to do a massive redo on my hair, just in the stages of gathering inspiration, and I wanted to know if any of you had any idea how to make coontails using fabric dye.

I was first inspired by the ikickshins tutorial on how to make coontails using tape and regular hair dye.
But I'm a college student in my first year and I don't have the money to buy expensive hair dye in bright colours. The local beauty mart, since I live out in the middle of nowhere, only sells natural colours. I've asked students on campus where they get their hair dye from and it's usually manic panic at $12 for a 4oz jar of one colour.

I want my coontails to be black & dark blue.

So on a search for an alternative I stumbled upon a tutorial for dying human hair wefts with fabric dye: viewtopic.php?f=64&t=10167&hilit=dying+wefts

I thought it was pretty nifty as a permanent solution for bright colours but the only problem is the fact that all the hair has to be submerged in the fabric dye.

Do you think it's possible to still use the tape and dye method?
Or do I have to splurge on black hair dye and dark blue fabric dye?
Striving for social imperfection since 1990.

IKickShins

Re: Coontails with Fabric Dye?

Post by IKickShins » Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:46 am

I'd recommend trying it on a small piece first. I've found that fabric dye runs WAY more than hair dye when you first rinse it out, so the stripes might bleed into each other more. Only one way to know for sure is to try it, though :D
I Kick Shins - Now stocking olive green, pistachio, & neon purple kk jumbo braid!
IKS @ Etsy - Clip-in streaks & top hats galore!
Facebook - You know the drill ;)

Couture_Coiffure

Post by Couture_Coiffure » Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:53 am