15-year dreadlocks, considering getting rid - sale?

Colin OOOD

15-year dreadlocks, considering getting rid - sale?

Post by Colin OOOD » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:13 pm

Hi HairExtensionForum :) New user here with a specific question; I had a brief look round the forum and this seems the most appropriate place to post but if there's anywhere better then by all means please move my thread.

I have very long dark brown hair (backs of knees) in 48-50 thin, neat, wax-and-product-free hand-rubbed dreadlocks which I have been growing for the last 15 years. My hair hasn't seen scissors since two years before that, so the ends are all natural. Very soon after getting them I discovered the perfect maintenance regime, which for my hair means never getting it wet; they are surprisingly light for their length, non-greasy and do not smell of anything other than hair. I've been told by many people that they are amongst the longest and tidiest dreads they have ever seen. As well as the dreads on my head, which range in length from about 30cm to maybe 150cm (most being pretty damn long) I have a collection of 11 ends, around 30cm long, that have been pulled off over the past year or so.

15 years is a long time to have the same hairstyle, so for the past few years I have been toying with the idea of getting them cut off and being a norm again. Having spent all that time and effort extruding this stuff out of my scalp my questions are - are they worth anything to anyone? If so, how much, and what is the best way to get the most for them?

Thanks for your time :)

Colin

sammu

Re: 15-year dreadlocks, considering getting rid - sale?

Post by sammu » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:21 pm

In my experience, the real dreads I have seen for sale don't end up going for much. One mate's dreads went for £10... and he was growing them for as long as you had. There's still a stigma attached to real dreads that many people still insist on believing... y'know the usual "smelly" stereotype. Eh.