Orange streak, oh how do I make thee perfect?

Vicsarina

Orange streak, oh how do I make thee perfect?

Post by Vicsarina » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:00 am

*Maybe made the subject a little dramatic*

So my hair is currently a slightly faded red. Think a faded 'Red tomato' kk shade. I'm going to be dying my hair Nuclear Red, but I wanted an Napalm Orange streak in my fringe.

The question is, do I bleach the streak first, cover it in conditioner and dye the rest Red, and hope it doesn't run. Then dye the streak orange.

Ooor do I dye it all red first, bleach and the dye the streak orange.

I've never done mixed hair colours before other than just highlights. So please help:D
*Rule Obsessor*

ANNloses

Re: Orange streak, oh how do I make thee perfect?

Post by ANNloses » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:25 am

Personally I hate these kinds of dye jobs. I always messed them up. D:
But I think that dying first, then bleaching would be best. Just try to avoid that area too, don't saturate it with too much dye.

Vicsarina

Post by Vicsarina » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:38 am

I suppose it shouldn't matter too much... It's not like I want to go yellow, or a blue or anything.
*Rule Obsessor*

ANNloses

Post by ANNloses » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:45 am

True, but if you bleach first and then the red gets onto that streak, it'll be red, and it won't be able to go orange. :(

Vicsarina

Post by Vicsarina » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:57 am

But that was what the conditioner on the streaky bit was for. So that colour couldn't take.
*Rule Obsessor*

doclocks
Site Admin

Post by doclocks » Thu Aug 21, 2008 4:39 am

Honestly, if you are using a sfx type color and you color first, then bleach, the bleach will likely give you the orangish shade you are after. You may have to tone it a bit with more orange, but I think it would be super easy.
Doctored Locks :)
Sophisticated supplies for hair extension architects.
Hair extensions, installation supplies, 300+ free DIY tutorials, classes and installations.

Vicsarina