Bleaching from Black

moROSE69

Bleaching from Black

Post by moROSE69 » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:12 am

I am going to be dying my hair soon and I want to get some of the black out so I can get a good bleach to apply the color. I know I read about this on HH but I can't remember. Maybe we can make a sticky for it.

Lorny

Re: Bleaching from Black

Post by Lorny » Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:34 am

So are you asking how you would go about bleaching your hair?
I am neither blue nor red. I am a proud recruit of the Indecisive Army!

LittlePinkFaery

Post by LittlePinkFaery » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:01 am

are you naturally dark or fair?

I used Jerome's B blonde lightest lightener and got my natural auburn hair that had been black for some time to white blonde/ bright ginger- go patchy hair! but I managed with toners to sort it all out :)

I am no expert though!

moROSE69

Post by moROSE69 » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:32 pm

Yea... Is there anything special I should do to get it like ultra white from black. I am trying to go blue.

I'm fair skinned... if you mean my hair (which I think you do) it's light brown and blonde but it's currently a faded black with blue/purplish hint what you can't see anymore.

Lorny

Post by Lorny » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:08 pm

You're going to need to bleach it out. Jerome Russel's is good. To get to ultra white you need lots of bleach, and thats it. Use a good strong purple toner after all the bleaching to get it that extra bit white.

Oh, and you're going to need lots of conditioning treatments.
I am neither blue nor red. I am a proud recruit of the Indecisive Army!

Phoenix

Post by Phoenix » Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:34 pm

I've just bleached some of my hair from overdyed black to have red in my hair.

I found I had to bleach my hair twice (using something stupid like 18% bleach) to lift the colour, especially off of the tips. Even after this my hair still was dark auburn at the tips. When my hairdresser used 40vol on my hair it hardly lifted any of the colour at all.