Fake fringes with full head of dread

Loric

Fake fringes with full head of dread

Post by Loric » Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:41 am

i was wondering how (if possible) to attach a fake fringe after installing dreads? All the tutorials on fringes are people with falls clipping them to their natural hair once its pulled back and then covering it. Is it possible to install a full head of dreads then attach a fringe? I've never used a fringe before so am confused as to where it would be attached? Sorry if its on the wrong place but its my first real post :-). Any pics to illustrate would be really helpful. Thanks.

VixenSingsBlack

Re: Fake fringes with full head of dread

Post by VixenSingsBlack » Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:00 am

This is the right place, m'dear. I do as many others--leave out a bit of natural hair and clip to that. If you don't want that, there is another way, but I may be VERY bad at explaining it.

1 Attach the bangs to a clear piece of thin, flat rubber/silicone to hold the fringe in place by wrapping around your haed. This stuff is available as bra strap material at most serious Fabric/Sewing stores, and it can be easily hidden by dreads.

2 (this is the hard one) Normally a fringe's wefting must be covered because the hair is left to hang straight down from the wefting. BUT if you take the hair and fold it over the wefting, set it there with heat/product then the wefting will be hidden. My horrible illustration follows. Imagine the pic below as viewing the fringe lying flat on a table from the side.

Was that at all helpful?

IKickShins

Post by IKickShins » Sat Jun 04, 2011 5:10 am

Picture version:

Normal fringe

Folded fringe. I don't have my flat iron in my office so I just held it in place with my hands, but ideally you'd want to do it nice and straight, up close to the sewn part.

Also, wow, my faux-distressed desk looks like it's covered in crumbs. I promise, I don't make hair in filth. It's just the wood! :P