Rough, natural looking wool dreads?

eingana

Rough, natural looking wool dreads?

Post by eingana » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:50 am

Hi!

I'm going to start making my first set of wool dreads and I'm a total newbie. I have these beautiful merino wool bundles in shades of blue and purple. I've read the FAQ's and tons of other posts and I think I know what to do and such, but I haven't managed to find how to achieve a more natural looking dread? I want them to be a bit messy, not totally even and a bit rough with a skinny tapered end. Like real hair would look like, sort of. Except wool. And I don't really want synthetic dreads. How can I do that?

Should I crochet and then felt? Back-comb first? Try to back-comb after them being felted? Braid and then felt? Dry-felt? Is it easier to get them to look like that in the washing machine or should I do it by hand? Is it even possible to get more textured wool dreads?

Also I have a sidecut, and I've been thinking about making double ended dreadlocks, however I've started to wonder if I should do them single ended instead, because I think it'll be very obvious that they are braided in when you see the sides of the dread, and I want a quite natural look. What do you recommend?

Ahh. Sorry for all the questions. I'll love you forever if you help me!

My google hunt gave me these pictures: (which aren't exactly right, but sort of in the right direction)
ImageImage (this last picture is quite perfect)

And I adore these natural synthetic dreads from VisenSingsBlack and I kind of want something like this. Except not synthetic. Uhm.

Gracey

Re: Rough, natural looking wool dreads?

Post by Gracey » Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:58 am

Most of those pics are not roving, I'm afraid. The first is a mix of slub yarn, probably Colinette point 5, and skinny twisted synth dreads. The blonde pic is real dreads and the blue also looks like slub yarn to me. Obviously, vixen's are synth hair.