Anyone know about Yarn Braids/Genie Locks?! (pics/video)

Astrume

Anyone know about Yarn Braids/Genie Locks?! (pics/video)

Post by Astrume » Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:21 pm

I hope I'm posting this in the right place.

So, I'm surfing the web a stumbled upon this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAvISKG_pwY
I know very little about yarn braids ( they're also called genie locks I think ), but they look so beautiful! I love the fact that it looks like real dreads and since it's yarn, they should be really soft, right? Here are some other examples I found over the web (i don't own any of these images) :

Anyway, did anyone else tried this before? How long did it take you to put it in? And how do you take them out?

Sorry if someone had already posted this. I'm a newbie on this forum, so please forgive me if i did something wrong ^_^;
"The most beautiful things emerge from chaos...I don't even know what that word 'chaos' means, you know? Chaos appose to what, order? When is there order anywhere?" -- Esperanza Spalding

MrsEss

Re: Anyone know about Yarn Braids/Genie Locks?! (pics/video)

Post by MrsEss » Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:28 pm

Oooh, theres a tute somewhere on here for something similar, normal wool but wrapped to make them look more dread like.

WoolHairHabit does quite a few wool installs for people & Rhaeniel makes her own by braiding wool then felting it in the washing machine. I believe they both have quite a few show off on here if you're looking for some inspiration.

Welcome to the board :D
*~*~*~*~*Saaaaaaspie-doo-be-doo-bedooooo is awwwwweeesoooooome*~*~*~*~*-ScarletLady

Socially awkward since 1982
Decimation Fashion
Tumblr
Formerly known as DreadstarMonstar

toxic trish

Post by toxic trish » Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:48 pm

ye i think this is the thing that sarah is on about but i dont no how it would work on hair if it is ??

http://hairextensionforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=9791

hope it helps and welcome to the board :)