bad technique? and new colours and opinions plz

emmyk89

bad technique? and new colours and opinions plz

Post by emmyk89 » Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:02 pm

Hey guys! i think u probably know that im pretty new to this and stuff I just want a few opinions on these things.

This is a pic of some purple dreads (cant remember the exact colour of hair but it was from BH) i backcombed them and sealed them once (dont think my backcimbing was very good) i put them in when i had a set made and installed for me by someone else but i didnt like one of the colours she used so i made a few to replace that colour (so i guess i rushed it really, but they unravelled and this is what they looked like after about 2 weeks, is this because of bad backombing, bad sealing (or lack of) or the hair type? (read alot of bad reviews about BH) (oh and i know the ends are TERRIBLE lol)
http://emmakey.myphotoalbum.com/view_ph ... d=imag0090
http://emmakey.myphotoalbum.com/view_ph ... d=imag0091

Since then ive watched a load more videos and tutorials and joined this forum and read loads of posts and ive had another go and making dreads, these are kind of just practise ones with a spare jumbo braid red bag i had.
What are they meant to look like when they are backcombed and sealed? Mine look kind of "straight" not knotted or fluffy compared to the set i got made me for me prev, and only the outside of the dread looks backcombed, like this (ive untwisted it a little bit so u can see what i mean by it being "straight" and not knotted/fluffy) and ive only sealed them once (butg for a good few mins on each):
http://emmakey.myphotoalbum.com/view_ph ... d=imag0109

I think they also look a bit smooth like they would unravel after a week?:
http://emmakey.myphotoalbum.com/view_ph ... d=imag0105